Echo Support compared with Crisp, Tidio, Intercom, Zendesk, Chatbase and ChatDirect

Echo Support costs $19 CAD a month for the first paid plan, billed per workspace rather than per agent, and it is one of only two products here that prices in Canadian dollars and hosts in Quebec. It is also the youngest and the least featured. Every price below was read on the vendor’s own pricing page on 23 September 2026.

Facts verified on . Every statement on this page points to something we publish or run; where something does not exist yet, this page says so.

The comparison

ProductFirst paid tierBilling unitFree planWhere the data sits
Echo Support$19 CADper workspace, 3 users includedYes, permanent (no AI)Beauharnois, Quebec
ChatDirect34 $ CADper monthNo — 14-day trialCanada (its own claim)
Tidio24.17 $ (currency not stated)per billable conversation quotaYes, permanentNot stated on the pricing page
Intercom29 $ (currency not stated)per seat — plus $0.99 per AI resolutionNo — 14-day trialUS, EU, Australia. No Canadian region.
Crisp45 $ (currency not stated)per workspace, 4 seatsYes, permanent (2 seats)Amsterdam, Netherlands
Chatbase40 $ (currency not stated)per message creditsYes, but agents deleted after 14 days idleUnited States (AWS us-east-1)
Zendesk19 $ (currency not stated), annualper agent — AI only from 55 $/agentNo — 14-day trial9 AWS regions. None in Canada.

Official pricing pages, read on 2026-09-23: Crisp · Tidio · Intercom · Zendesk · Chatbase · ChatDirect

Read the “billing unit” column first. Comparing “19 $” with “19 $ per agent” or “$0.99 per AI resolution” means nothing. A five-person team pays Echo once; on a per-seat product it pays five times.

On currency: five of these six show “$” with no currency code and no selector on their pricing page. We reproduce what they display rather than assume US dollars — assuming would flatter us by roughly a third.

Where Echo genuinely differs

  • Data in Quebec. The applications, database and files run on a server in Beauharnois. Of the five international products here, none offers a Canadian region.
  • Prices in Canadian dollars, taxes stated. No conversion, no surprise on the card statement.
  • Billing per workspace, not per agent. Adding a colleague does not change the bill, up to the plan’s user cap.
  • No overage billing, ever. At the cap the widget stops opening new conversations until the 1st of the next month.
  • We document the full chain — including what leaves the country. That is what the Law 25 page is for.

Where Echo is not the right answer

This is the part a comparison page usually leaves out.

  • If you need an API, webhooks, SSO or audit logs: none of them is open on any Echo plan today.
  • If you need phone, social channels or a full ticketing suite: Zendesk and Intercom do that and we do not.
  • If you need an uptime commitment: we do not offer one, and nothing on our side measures availability.
  • If “100 % in Canada” has to be literally true for every provider: ChatDirect claims it, we do not — our AI provider is in the United States and we say so.
  • If you want customer references: we have none to show yet. Echo is a 2026 company.

The free plans are not the same thing

Echo’s free plan is permanent and takes 25 conversations a month — but no AI: they reach you and you answer them. Crisp and Tidio also have permanent free plans; Chatbase deletes idle agents after fourteen days; Intercom, Zendesk and ChatDirect offer a trial, not a free plan.

Checking for yourself

Every source is linked above. If a price has changed since 23 September 2026, this page is wrong and we want to know: contact@echo-group.ca. Our own plans are on the pricing page, and what we can and cannot do is on the facts page.